Huge Vegan Brunch

20 Jul

Jenn and Greta made this amazing weekend brunch, it fills you up all day! The scrambled tofu is the main exciting bit, we served it with fried potatoes with paprika, vegan haggis (sadly not home made) and toast (made from homemade bread from our friend Josie). You can pick the nicest things to serve it with, We recommend potato cakes.

Ingredients for HUGE Scrambled Tofu: A few cloves of garlic (to taste), 4 Portobello mushrooms, Handful of cherry tomatoes, 1 pack of 350g firm tofu, Splash of soy sauce, Vegan stock cube, Lump of Vegan margarine, Tofu sausages.

Finely chop and fry the garlic and mushrooms and squish the tofu through your fingers into the pan.
Add the lump of margarine, cherry tomatoes and sausages to the pan and fry for a few more minutes. Add the soy sauce and stock cube and continue to fry until everything is hot all the way through and smells amazing. Serve with whatever other
breakfast stuff you have.

Suggestions of other things to serve: spicy potatoes, baked beans, hash browns, potato waffles, grilled tomatoes, toast, garlic mushrooms, last night’s leftovers…

Huge Vegan Brunch

Huge Vegan Brunch

Check out our other recipes here, and subscribe for email updates on the right and add us on twitter @nakedvegancooks 

8 Responses to “Huge Vegan Brunch”

  1. Liam July 20, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    When I made scrambled tofu before (a much more boring version from a tofu cookbook) I mashed it a bit with a potato masher. For the more squeamish / anyone else who’d rather not squidge tofu throught their fingers, mashing it a bit may be a reasonable alternative 🙂

    • radicalrabbit July 20, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

      Good shout, thanks Liam 🙂 x

  2. mutuality September 19, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    Alternatively, you could mash a slab/block of tofu in soya milk using a utensil (potato masher) and then add a teaspoon of turmeric (to give it a mild curry-like taste), garlic, pepper and soya sauce. It is light, soft and delicious. Trust me! 🙂

    Ooo what a welcoming smile Jenn!

    • pauljw11Paul February 4, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

      I made a version of this this morning. I had a block of smoked tofu which I roughly cubed, I did not have any portebellos so I chopped some medium sized mushrooms and some garlic and I fried the whole lot together. Towards the end I added some whole canned tomatoes as I had no fresh ones. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I ate it naked but alone (my flatmate thinks I am mad to be vegetarian, and I can’t see he would approve of naturism either!) Thanks Jenn, Greta for the inspiration.

      • radicalrabbit February 4, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

        Smoked tofu sounds like a great addition, and great that your getting into the spirit of things! Let us know if you feel like contributing to the blog.

      • Paul February 5, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

        I’d certainly like to make the occassional contribution to the blog(I did make one before under “about”). I think you are doing a great job, keep up the good work.

  3. Vegan Recipe Club August 27, 2013 at 9:34 am #

    Cant wait to try this!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. the urban nudist | Naked Vegan Cooking - April 4, 2013

    […] (One of the Naked Vegan Cooks’ delicious recipes! Photo: Courtesy of The Naked Vegan Cooks) […]

Leave a Reply

