Greta on Veganism and Body Image in Hospital

26 Apr

One of the reasons we have been a bit quiet over the last week is that I have been in hospital. It’s been a rough time; I was admitted because of stomach pain and rapid weight loss so I have been a bit scared about it impacting on my cooking and eating abilities!

I was quite impressed that the hospital said they could offer me vegan meals, although they have only actually managed to get them to me half the times that they have said they would! The whole place is crazy disorganised. The few times they have made it to me I have been very impressed; they have the best vegan mashed potatoes I have ever had! It definitely shows that veganism is coming more into the mainstream, a few years ago when I was in here they didn’t even know what vegan meant.  I have been making up the missed meals by the other naked vegan cooks bringing me in food; I think I am getting vegetable pakoras later!

I have lost over 10% of my body weight in the last couple of weeks which has been bringing up some very odd feelings for me. I struggled with a borderline eating disorder when I was younger and have only been getting to grips with loving the body I have over the last year or so, it’s scary to see myself shrinking again! Plus all the doctors and nurses keep asking me if it was intentional weight loss, even though they know I am here because of digestive problems. I am hoping to be home soon and cooking up lots and lots of high calorie food so I can get back on track.

22 Responses to “Greta on Veganism and Body Image in Hospital”

  1. Natalie April 26, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

    I hope you get better soon 🙂 I also used to struggle with disordered eating and I lost weight super quickly when I had serious food poisoning earlier this year, so I know it can be really disorientating. Good luck with putting the weight back on though, hope to see you back and cooking asap 🙂

  2. Christopher Panayi April 26, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    Sorry to hear you’re in Hospital Greta. I hope you’ll be out and posting more recipes soon. Any chance of finding out what the cooks did to the mash? I’ve tried most of the recipes which are posted on Naked Vegan Cooking, and they’re wonderful! Thanks for ALL you do. Cheers. Chris.

  3. Stewart Lever April 26, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    Hope you a very better soon.
    Stewart x

  4. John Tompkins April 26, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    Hospital food is always messed up. they always promise more than they can provide.
    I had a minor op a few months ago as a day patient and on hearing I have a gluten allergy, the nurse said “I shouldn’t tell you this but you’d be best to bring sandwiches to be sure you have something.”

    Get Well Soon

  5. naturistreview April 26, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    I hope you feel better and best wishes!

  6. Jose April 26, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    Sorry to read your in the hospital. I hope and pray you have a quick and full recovery.
    Hurry back but not too soon.

    Jose

  7. Herbie Vore April 26, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    hey greta!

    glad to see your on the mend! made up you were able to get vegan food and your friends have brought stuff in! im looking forward to hearing about your cooking sesh when you get home! dont worry a bout your body changing just remember its not you doing it and you’ll be back on track in no time! ❤ all the best ❤

  8. Andy April 26, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    Good luck, hope you’re back to the stove soon 😉

    I was in the Queens Medical Centre for a few days a couple of years ago when I bust me ankle. I reliably got vegan meals every day although they were rather dull. Things improving maybe.

    • Mohd May 24, 2012 at 11:53 am #

      she was going vegan. I was the person who was all like, Oh I could never do that. I love cseehe! . She never pressured me but constantly informed me about what I was consuming that could be veganized .Over the next few months I began reading about the entangled oppressions of humans and other animals. I had, for a long while, been a fan of Cesar Chavez and came to realize that he was a committed vegan who understood that all oppressions are connected and that violence is violence no matter who it was committed against.I already considered myself to be pro-peace and anti-oppression and I remember asking myself if I could justify consuming other animals, who were every bit as entitled to a life free of exploitation and oppression as any human being. I couldn’t do it and was instantly a vegan. I donated my non-vegan clothes to others in need and immediately dropped the animal products (for lack of a better term) from my diet.Here I am three years later and I feel more and more committed to the principle of nonexploitation (veganism) every day. Not only has veganism opened my eyes to entangled oppressions of humans and other animals, it has also dramatically improved the quality of my own life in so many ways. With this renewed sense of confidence I am constantly striving to improve my life as well as the life of other beings.

  9. Hannah April 26, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    Lovely Greta, so sorry to hear you’re ill! I hope you’re diagnosed and get treatment soon. And that it’s not gallstones – they hurt like hell :/ xxx

  10. Roxane April 28, 2012 at 3:25 am #

    Hi! I hope you feel better and get well soon. 🙂
    I’ve just recently discovered this blog and I’m a 16 year old vegan, all of you inspire me to embrace my body which is is one also very familiar with eating disorders and such. People like you and blogs like this take me as far away as possible from that state of mind. Thank you very much and best wishes!
    Roxane x

  11. cameraphonevegan April 29, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    i hope you’re feeling better quick and back to your happy, healthy self!

  12. Rose Findley April 30, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    I hope you are diagnosed and treated soon. I’m glad the hospital food isn’t too bad! Hopefully all the extra treats from your friends will keep a smile on your face. xxxxxx

  13. Sabine May 1, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    How scary for you – I hope you find out what’s wrong and what you can do about it soon. X

  14. Paul May 5, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    There is an interesting group here that help people overcome body image problems through nudity.
    http://spiritedbodies.com/

  15. Charmed Life May 7, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

    Hospitals can always manage cereal with soya milk and banana!

  16. David May 13, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    Are you OK now, sweetie?

    • radicalrabbit May 13, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

      Greta is still in hospital, still getting tests. Hopefully she will be out in a week or so’s time.

  17. Steve May 15, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    Greta I Hope your feeling much better and out of hospital soon.

    Steve

  18. Jackie May 24, 2012 at 6:54 am #

    Chandra Posted on Love it! Glad I had a chance to run with you the other day! Helped me to get back on track while I was up there! Know that you keep me inrpised!

  19. Mardi February 24, 2013 at 2:36 am #

    “in Hospital”? Is this a British site?

    • radicalrabbit February 24, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

      yup!

Leave a Reply

