Hannah’s Vegan Soup

28 May

**This recipe is being re-posted as the original seemed to break our site, here’s hoping this one is ok!**

Hi there naked vegan cooking readers, my name is Hannah and I am a vegan, animal lover, sea shepherd volunteer and an avid chef. As I am ill in bed with sunstroke which I got from sitting in the sun at a sea shepherd protest up in Edinburgh, I thought that I would share with you my ultra tasty, easy and filling recipe for quick vegan soup, which I will definitely be making later…when the room stops spinning.

Sea Shephard solidarity protest

So, the ingredients needed are: Tablespoon of oil, 3 cloves of chopped garlic (or less if you’re not a garlic fiend like me), A medium white onion (roughly chopped), 1 tsp on finely grated fresh ginger (optional, I make with and without and get great results either way, however ginger is good when you’re poorly!), 1 tsp of ground chilli ( I sometimes put more in depending on the vegetable), 3 tsp of bouillon powder, vegetables of your choice (parsnip works very well, I also like butternut squash, sweet potato and sweet corn if I want to make a sweet corn chowder kinda thing, then I also add creamed sweetcorn too), water to cover.

Firstly, take a saucepan, and add the oil. Then, add the chopped garlic (doesn’t matter on being too fine as the moisture is blended!), along with the onion and the ginger, then sweat together for a few minutes. Whilst doing this, wash and prepare your vegetables. I leave the skin on everything as I like to keep the nutrients in, but you can peel if you like. When the onions, ginger and garlic are gently sweated together and the onions are going translucent, add the vegetables, cut into small pieces, cover with water and add the bouillon powder. Now you put the lid on at an angle, and leave to simmer for thirty minutes. After this, carefully pour into a blender ( I often do so much I have to do it in stages and mix all together in a big bowl) then blitz. When smooth, add seasoning, along with chilli powder if desired and taste. Tweak to own taste, then serve. I often serve with a swirl of alpro soya single cream for decoration, and fresh herbs on top ( if I’m being fancy and having people over). This soup freezes incredibly well and I always have some in the freezer for days I can’t be bothered to cook, but also keeps in the fridge for around 2-3 days. If you saw my previous focaccia recipe, this soup goes perfectly with it.

Hannah

As a sea shepherd supporter and volunteer, I have taken it upon myself to raise the profile, and the funds of sea shepherd. Therefore, I would very much appreciate it if you could donate via my just giving page to Sea Shepherd UK, as funds are always needed. The funds will go towards providing vegan meals to the selfless staff who go to sea to save lives, as well as for fuel, repairs, legal costs and such. To help me support this great cause, sponsor me by texting SSUK77 £2 to 70070, or through my justgiving page. Thank you!

Thank you, and I hope you enjoy the soup. I’m sure by the time you read this, I’ll of made myself up a batch, and will be back on my feet!

* Disclaimer: this soup may contain traces of vegan goddess.

Follow us on twitter and facebook!

2 Responses to “Hannah’s Vegan Soup”

  1. Christopher Panayi May 30, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    I’ve always loved this site, but with the Captain Paul Watson activism, you’ve been greatly elevated in my esteem.
    Hannah’s Vegan Soup sounds gorgeous, gotta try it. Thanks for everything. 🙂

    • Hannah 'VeganGoddess' Boal May 30, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

      I hope you enjoy it! My mum brought me in some parsnips the other day, and regardless of the sun, i WILL be making a batch.

Leave a Reply

