Ro’s Fried Cassava

27 Sep

Another guest post! Fancy submitting a guest post? We would love you forever! 

I’ve been in Manchester three months ago (last June) for the first time in my life. I really loved Manchester; the atmosphere of the city is just as magical as it is portrayed in the film “24 Hour Party People” (the song “Ceremony” by New Order was sounding in my head all the time).


I would like to move and live in Manchester, but the authorities wouldn’t allow me to migrate because I’m foreign and my financial status is not good enough to prove to the government that I am a good person. I was not born in the E.U. territory… When I was a fetus I didn’t have the chance to choose where to be born. Yeah… F*** all countries.


I joined my naked vegan cooking friends in their kitchen. I had a great time while I was there, although it was a chilly spring evening, a bit chilly to cook naked haha. We made a stir fry cassava dish. In case you don’t know, the cassava (also called yuca, manioc or mandioca in Spanish) is an edible root cultivated in tropical and subtropical regions.


These are the ingredients you’ll need to make this dish (for 3-4 servings): 1 kg fresh cassava roots, 2 or 3 onions, ½ cup chopped scallions or spring onions, 3 or 4 cloves of garlic, Vegetable oil, 200 ml. water, Salt or soy sauce, Vegetable stock in powder (or sweet paprika, pepper, etc), Dried parsley or dried basil, Nutritional yeast flakes


Preparation:
Peel off the cassava roots. Boil the peeled roots in water (you can add some salt) for about 30-40 minutes, or until they get soft (try pinching with a fork). When it’s already cooked, remove the cassava roots from the water. Then remove the middle stringy thing inside the cassava roots, you can do it with your fingers or using a knife. Also remove all the impurities you find on the roots. Then chop the cassava roots in little cube pieces.


Chop the onions, scallions and garlic cloves. Fry them on a big pan with some oil, some vegetable stock in powder and salt or soy sauce until they are cooked.


Add the water and when it starts boiling, add carefully all the chopped cassava pieces. Stir and mix everything during 4 or 5 minutes. Add some dried parsley or dried basil. Mix again and done.


Serve on plates and add some nutritional yeast flakes on top… Yum!


Follow us on twitter and facebook, and subscribe to our events mailing list.

Leave a Reply

