Gluten-free Vegan Jam Tarts

6 May

Rohan recently found out that he’s probably gluten intolerant and has had to cut gluten out of his diet. As a result, he’s suddenly a lot more interested in cooking now that most processed foods aren’t accessible to him. Last week Jess taught him how to make a sweet potato curry, and this week when looking for something to do with the left over sweet potatoes, he came across the idea of using them as a binding agent in baking. That’s how we ended up with these vegan, gluten-free jam tarts.

In other news, our friend Ro has started an interesting facebook page: “The Vegan Psychologist”  which offers insights into  alternative/unorthodox psychology and animal rights. Check it out 🙂

Ingredients: 130g sweet potato (peeled before weighing), 120g rice flour (and a lot more for dusting etc), 1tsp xanthan gum, 1/2tsp baking powder, 60g vegan marg, 60g caster sugar, gluten-free jam

IMG_2427
First peel and boil the sweet potato until soft, mash it thoroughly and leave it to cool in the fridge.
When it’s cooled for a while, you can start mixing the rice flour, xanthan gum, baking powder and caster sugar in a bowl, then rub the vegan marg into it with your fingers. When it’s starting to look a bit like bread crumbs, mix in the sweet potato mash with a spoon. This is when the extra flour comes in. You’ll probably need to add more flour bit-by-bit to get the dough to a workable consistency. It should be an interesting orange colour because of the sweet potato. When your dough is soft and not too sticky, put it in the fridge for half an hour or so.

IMG_2428
Now you should be ready to make jam tarts! We had two different types, strawberry jam and lemon and lime marmalade. Not all jam is vegan and not all jam is gluten free so check your labels match up with your dietary requirements. Preheat the oven to 180°. Dust your rolling surface with yet more rice flour and roll the pastry dough to just under half a centimetre thick. Cut circles out with a cookie-cutter or the top of a glass and lay them in a greased bun tray. Put a teaspoon of jam in the middle of each (don’t overdo it – the jam will spread and boil over if there’s too much). Then just stick them in for about 8 minutes. Don’t expect them to brown like normal pastry – prod the pastry to see if it’s done, but be careful not to touch the boiling jam!

Follow us on twitter and facebook, and subscribe to our events mailing list. Fancy submitting a guest post? We would be eternally grateful!

5 Responses to “Gluten-free Vegan Jam Tarts”

  1. homeclothesfree May 6, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

    Reblogged this on home clothes free.

  2. chan May 7, 2013 at 8:31 am #

    I like it nice

    • Mike Maybury May 20, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

      Sweet potato is OK, but the rest of the ingredients have no food value.
      What are sugar and jam ( by definition mainly sugar) doing in a recipe that is called vegan. There is an abundance on natural fruits and vegetables nuts and grains available for delicious food. Why try to imitate rubbish food eaten by traditional unhealthy eaters?

      • radicalrabbit May 21, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

        The vegan diet in general is healthier than most, but you need the odd treat now and again. Not everything you eat has to be full of superfoods or whatever. On top of that, not everyone (especially us poor students at nakedvegancooking) can actually afford to eat healthy all the time.
        Veganism isnt just about health, people go vegan for numerous different reasons.
        I went vegan cause I dont want to eat animal products. I definitely still want to eat cake. And thats totally fine. So kindly take your moralistic and classist attitude towards food elsewhere.

      • Tsondru May 25, 2013 at 11:21 am #

        “Veganism (/ˈviːgənɪzəm/) is the practice of abstaining from the use of animal products, particularly in diet, as well as an associated philosophy that rejects the commodity status of sentient animals. A follower of veganism is known as a vegan.” – veganism is about animal products, not about ‘food value’.

        Sugar and jam don’t contain animal products. That is what they are doing in a recipe that calls itself vegan.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: