Hannah Reviews Ms Cupcakes’ New Book

21 May

Hello blog readers, Recently I have purchased Ms Cupcakes new book and WOW!!!! my mind has been blown! I have been a huge fan of Ms Cupcake (Melissa Morgan) for quite a long time and finally had the pleasure of meeting her (and being mistaken for her) at the recent Northern Vegan Festival which I worked at alongside the lovely Jess, Rohan and Greta.

cupcake2

I pre-ordered this book and completely forgot about it until I saw about the events for the release – so it was like a nice surprise! And I was definitely in for a treat.

The book itself is PERFECT. A beautiful eclectic mix of personal style, tips hints and tricks and the photographs are STUNNING! Unlike other books I’ve read, the ingredients are easy and accessible with the recipes clearly stated and easy to follow. As a bonus, there’s even and easy bake section! This book is one of the most amazing thing I have ever owned and will most definitely be a well used asset in my kitchen.

cupcake1

Now down to the cake! I chose to be ‘different’ (as per usual) and double a recipe to make it enough for a big cake. I went for the Bakewell Tart as they were my absolute favourite before I turned vegan almost two years ago (two years next month!) and I’ve been craving them for a long time. I followed the easy recipe (doubled) and sandwiched the layers together with raspberry jam and the ‘classic vanilla buttercream’ to which I added a few drops of almond essence.

cupcake3

I finished it of with a buttercream top, toasted flaked almonds and natural glacé cherries (watch out for ones with animal derived colouring – just one of her handy tips)… and voila! I have my very own amazing tasting and easy to make cake. I can’t wait to try more from this book, and I’m sure ill share with you my pictures! Thank you to all those who helped create this amazing book, it really is a vegans dream.

cupcake4

You can buy the book online here

Follow us on twitter and facebook, and subscribe to our events mailing list. Fancy submitting a guest post? We would be eternally grateful!

One Response to “Hannah Reviews Ms Cupcakes’ New Book”

  1. Halit June 18, 2013 at 9:24 am #

    A very interesting website. You’ve got a nice hook. Well done and keep it up!

Leave a Reply

